Inner West Council

Congratulations to all the Ashfield Council Australia Day Award Winners for 2014


Citizen of the Year – Joint winner - Malcolm Little

Malcolm Little OAM has been the President of the Western Surburbs Cadet Division in Ashfield for 10 years.  He has raised over $200,000 for the St John Cadets, has trained SES members, the public and local Cadets in First Aid and contributes 500 hours of service locally each year.

Malcolm is a member of St John State Council. He has received commendation from St John for life saving within the community.


2014 Ashfield Citizen of the Year –  Joint winner - Peter Kaye AM

Peter Kaye was a founding member of the NSW State Emergency Service Ashfield- Leichardt Unit and has served the community for 38 years.  As a Local Controller he has invested time and energy into developing, leading, managing and preparing the SES to meet legislative requirements and has been an active volunteer in promoting and assisting charitable, educational and environmental pursuits.


2014 Young Artist of the Year – Karwin Knox

Karwin is a Year 12 student at Ashfield Boys High School. He is a gifted dancer and has excelled in the performing arts area. He is a senior member of the NSW Aboriginal Dance Ensemble performing at NSW Dance Festival / Schools Spectacular.  He performed at the launch of the inaugural Corroborree Festival and at the Deadly Kids Doing Well Awards.  Karwin’s received a Dunandbandi Deadly Award and mentorship at the Bangarra Dance Company.


2014 Young Citizen of the Year –Yatha Jain

Yatha was elected Vice Captain at her school for 2013 – 2014, she has been a Peer Support Leader to Year 7 students and was Sports Captain in 2013.

She has been a valued member of the Ashfield Youth Committee and a Volunteer Cadet with St John Ambulance where she gained the position of a Non-Commissioned Officer and received Cadet of the year in 2012 for displaying outstanding effort, commitment and achievement. Yatha was also awarded the Global Organisation of people of Indian Origin Youth Achievement Award for her contribution to the community.


2014 Young Sportsperson of the Year – Isabelle Bucher

Isabelle is the Sports Captain at Bethlehem College.  She is a talented Footballer who has represented the school at numerous events and tournaments. She has been commended for her outstanding contributions for community assistance, Nursing Home visits and was selected in the Women’s Premier League Soccer Squad. Isabelle is also a recipient of the Olympic Federation – Pierre De Courbetin Award.


2014 Special Sportsperson of the Year - Alexandra Blackwell

Alexandra is Vice Captain and a four time World Champion of the Australian Southern Stars National Cricket Team.  She Captained the first ever Australian Women’s Twenty20 team to its first World Cup victory in Barbados in 2010, and achieved back to back Twenty20 World Cup victories after beating England in the 2012 final.  She has been a Celebrity Ambassador for Northcott Disability Services and actively engages with people with a disability, their carers and their families.



2014 Achievement Award Winners


Alexander Bailey

Scott Broadbridge-Brown JP

Anna Fortuna JP

Helen Keir JP

Jillian Comber JP

Joshua Staines

Liliana Tai

Kermina Kiriacos