Inner West Council

Our Organisation

Inner West Council is a new council formed by the merger of the former Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville Councils. It was proclaimed by the NSW Minister for Local Government on 12 May 2016.

Council employs over 1250 staff, organised into various sections with different responsibilities.

Richard Pearson


Richard Pearson is the Administrator of the new Inner West Council until new councillors are elected in September 2017. The Administrator has the functions of the full council and mayor.

Mr Pearson is a former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Planning and Environment, Mr Pearson has over 25 years’ experience in town planning, organisational change and reform and the leadership of government agencies.

He has close links with local government having started his career at Wollongong and Byron councils and later managing the regional offices of the Department of Planning. This involved front line liaison with local councils in developing their local environmental plans and preparation of regional strategies.

Recently Mr Pearson has been running his own town planning and policy consultancy.

Interim General Manager

Rik Hart is the interim General Manager for Inner West Council, and oversees Council's day to day operations.

Mr Hart is a very experienced local government General Manager, having previously served in that capacity for the former Warringah Council on Sydney's northern beaches for almost a decade.

Mr Hart concluded his appointment at Warringah Council in May following the merger of Warringah, Pittwater and Manly councils.

Mr Hart was previously Chief Executive of the Hutt City Council in New Zealand for five years. Prior to holding that position he was Chief Executive of the Victorian Department of State Development, also for five years.

Advisory Groups – IAG and LRAC

Inner West Council has two advisory groups that are helping shape the decisions of the new Council.

The role of the Implementation Advisory Group (IAG) is to provide advice to the Administrator on implementing the new council.

Further details on the Role of the Implementation Advisory Group (IAG) and Meeting Agendas and the Role of the Local Representation Advisory Committees (LRAC) and Meeting Agendas can be found at these links.

IAG Members and Contact details and LRAC Members and Contact details can be found below:

Implementation Advisory Group (IAG) Members and Contacts

Darcy Byrne
0404 528 277

Vera-Ann Hannaford
5 Short Street, Leichhardt NSW 2040
0418 476 566 or 9560 7482

Lucille McKenna OAM
0408 629 888

Alex Lofts
0401 142 756

Sam Iskandar
0421 494 515

Rosana Tyler
0414 859 630

Local Implementation Advisory Group (LRAC) Members and Contacts

Ashfield (LRAC)

Ted Cassidy PSM
101 Kingston Street, Haberfield NSW 2045
0418 228 710

Mark Drury
0448 772 942

Alex Lofts
0401 142 759

Morris Mansour
2/13-15 Tintern Road, Ashfield NSW 2131
0417 226 007

Lucille McKenna OAM
0408 629 888

Julie Passas
12/8 Cecil Street, Ashfield NSW 2131
0419 206 855
Fax - 9798 0295

Vittoria Raciti
262 Hawthorne Parade, Haberfield NSW 2045
9716 6191

Adriano Raiola
PO Box 1145, Ashfield NSW 1800
9712 5080

Max Raiola
PO Box 1145, Ashfield NSW 1800
9712 5080

Caroline Stott
33 Tintern Road, Ashfield NSW 2131
0418 400 598  or  9716 7198

Jeannette (Mei) Wang
49/106 Elizabeth Street, Ashfield NSW 2131
0429 188 608

Monica Wangmann
38 Albert Parade, Ashfield NSW 2131
9797 6543